Skip to content

AppStills vs AppMockUp Studio

AppStills and AppMockUp Studio both build App Store and Google Play screenshots in the browser, but they aim at different users. AppMockUp Studio is a completely free, no-account tool for 2D screenshot layouts, backed by a large template library and a long track record. AppStills is a sign-in freemium tool built around a real-time 3D editor with AI store-import, promo & app-preview video export, and 50-language AI translation — most of which sit behind a $5.90/month Pro plan. In the matrix below, the AppStills column is drawn only from its own code, and the AppMockUp column only from what AppMockUp's live site stated on 2026-07-21 (its homepage and /help/faq/); anything their site does not state is marked as such rather than guessed.

Feature comparison

FeatureAppStillsAppMockUp Studio
3D device posingYes — real-time 3D (react-three-fiber): full 6-axis per-object transform (posX/Y/Z + rotX/Y/Z) plus scale, perspective or orthographic camera, 4 render styles (realistic/clay/toon/linear). Available on the free tier.No — 2D resize / rotate / position of flat device frames (real, solid-color clay, and color styles + tint). No 3D or perspective camera stated (homepage, 2026-07-21).
Store-listing importYes — imports an existing App Store / Google Play listing (name, screenshots, description) and derives colours + layout via Claude vision. Sign-in required, not Pro-gated.No — no listing-import feature stated; screenshots are added manually (homepage/FAQ, 2026-07-21).
AI captionsYes — generates a headline + optional subtitle per screen from the app's own store text at import (Claude Haiku). Sign-in required, not Pro-gated.No — no AI features mentioned on AppMockUp's homepage or FAQ/help center (2026-07-21).
Localization50 App Store Connect languages, AI batch translation of the whole caption set, plus per-language screenshot overrides & position nudges. Pro.Manual — 'all languages and scripts' with 'full support for right-to-left languages and special characters,' but no AI/auto translation of a caption set stated (FAQ, 2026-07-21).
Promo & app-preview videoYes — promo videos from 15 ready-made scripts (16:9, 9:16, 1:1; H.264 MP4 at 720p/1080p, 24/30/60 fps) plus Apple-approved 15–30s app previews (30fps CFR, exact App Store Connect sizes; iPhone & iPad, not Watch), all rendered in-browser from the live 3D scene. Building & previewing is free; MP4 export is Pro.No — still-image screenshot designer; no app-preview / promo video export mentioned (2026-07-21).
All-sizes one-ZIP exportYes — every store size × every chosen language streamed into one ZIP with per-language and per-size folders, at exact store pixels and flattened (alpha-free). Pro.Partial — 'Automatically generates appropriate sizes for all required devices,' but no single one-click ZIP bundle stated (FAQ, 2026-07-21).
Free tierYes — full 3D editor, all effects, store import + AI captions. 1 project; one size and one language per export run. Sign-in required.Yes — 'No account or registration is required'; free online tool with no stated project/export limits (homepage/FAQ, 2026-07-21).
Watermark-free free exportYes — free exports are watermark-free; the 'Made with AppStills.com' mark was removed, so both tiers export clean.Not stated — no watermark mentioned either way, and no paid tier exists to remove one (marked unknown; homepage/FAQ, 2026-07-21).
PricingFree plan + Pro at $5.90/month or $49.90/year (read live from Stripe; the live pricing page shows 'Save 30%' on yearly), as of 2026-07-21.Free — no paid, Premium, or Pro plan and no price listed on its homepage or FAQ (2026-07-21).
PlatformWeb only (Next.js, in-browser). Sign-in required; no native app, no advertised offline mode.Web only — runs in-browser at studio.app-mockup.com; no install and no account required; no native app advertised (2026-07-21).

Comparison last verified 2026-07-21. AppMockUp Studio’s pricing and features are taken from app-mockup.com and change over time — check their site for current details. AppStills details reflect the current product.

Where each tool is stronger

Where AppStills is stronger

  • Genuine real-time 3D editor (react-three-fiber): full 6-axis per-object transforms (posX/Y/Z + rotX/Y/Z) plus scale, a perspective OR orthographic camera, and four render styles (realistic/clay/toon/linear) — versus AppMockUp's flat 2D device frames.
  • AI at import: pulls an existing App Store / Google Play listing (name, screenshots, description) with Claude-vision colours + layout, and auto-generates a headline + optional subtitle per screen from the app's own store text — AppMockUp has neither listing import nor any AI.
  • Video export: promo MP4s from 15 scripts (16:9, 9:16, 1:1, up to 1080p/60 fps) and Apple-compliant app previews, encoded in-browser — AppMockUp is still-images only.
  • Localization depth: exactly 50 App Store Connect locales with AI batch translation of the whole caption set, plus per-language screenshot swaps and position nudges — beyond AppMockUp's manual, translate-it-yourself localization.
  • Multi-size, multi-language one-ZIP export that is pixel-exact and flattened alpha-free, with per-language and per-size folders — versus AppMockUp's 'Automatically generates appropriate sizes' with no stated single-ZIP bundle.
  • Richer scene toolkit: directional soft fades & grainy dither dissolve, glass-floor reflection, background vignette & blur, gradient-capable borders, panorama backgrounds spanning frames, a built-in mesh-gradient background generator, plus rating/testimonial and award-badge objects, share links, and public showcases.

Where AppMockUp Studio is stronger

  • Completely free with zero friction — 'No account or registration is required,' no sign-up, and no install; AppStills redirects you to sign in before the editor loads at all.
  • No paid tier to work around: every feature AppMockUp offers is available at $0, whereas AppStills gates batch ZIP, MP4 video export, custom canvas, and AI translation behind Pro ($5.90/month).
  • Established template library ('a template for every type of app') and a cited track record — '7+ Million screenshots generated' and '400+ Reviews.'
  • Broad manual localization at no cost: 'all languages and scripts' with 'full support for right-to-left languages and special characters.'

When AppMockUp Studio is the better choice

Choose AppMockUp Studio if you want a genuinely free, no-account, no-install tool for straightforward 2D screenshot layouts and would rather not sign in or pay a subscription. It is the better pick when you only need a handful of flat, templated screenshots, when you want to test a tool with zero commitment, or when your must-haves (3D perspective posing, AI store-import and captions, promo & app-preview video, automated caption translation, batch multi-size export) are all things you can do without — its free-forever model and broad template library then win outright. If you do need those advanced or AI-driven capabilities, or multi-size/multi-language output, AppStills' Pro tier is what covers them.

Verdict

Both are browser-based screenshot tools, but they serve different needs. AppMockUp Studio wins on cost and friction: it is fully free, needs no account or install, and ships a large template library with solid free background and localization tooling — ideal for simple, flat 2D screenshot sets. AppStills wins on capability: a real-time 3D editor, AI listing-import with auto-captions, promo & app-preview video (MP4), 50-language AI translation, and pixel-exact multi-size/multi-language ZIP export — but its batch, video, and translation features require a $5.90/month Pro plan and a sign-in. Pick AppMockUp for free, no-commitment simplicity; pick AppStills when 3D, AI, video, or pixel-exact multi-store output justify a subscription.

Try AppStills free

Design App Store and Google Play screenshots in a real 3D editor — import your listing, add AI captions, and export every size. Free to start, no credit card.